Somaliland: Only Seven Parties Will Contest Local Council Elections


By: Yusuf M Hasan

HARGEISA (Somalilandsun) – The National Election Commission-NEC has released names of seven political groups that will contest local council elections.

According to a NEC, statement signed by spokesperson Mohammed Ahmed Hirsi Gelle informed that the political groups that will contest local council elections are Kulmiye, UCID, Dalsan, UMADDA, Wadani, Rays and Haqsoor.

The spokesperson said that the seven were approved after they beat the 14th September deadline for submission of lists of individual party candidates contesting seats in the elections slated for 28th November 2012.

The reduction in the number of contesting parties is due to the non-compliance of UDUB and Nasiye parties that were in the initial group of nine. The two parties had earlier on announced withdrawal from contesting the council elections for various reasons.

UDUB withdrew for reasons it attributed to differences with the Political Parties Registration and Verification Committee while Nasiye withdrew for reasons related to insufficient funds.

Now that the main hurdle is passed, it remains for electioneering proper to kick off