Somaliland: Local council Polls slated for 28th November


NEC Comissioners announce local Council election dates as 28th Nov 2012By: Yusuf M Hasan

HARGEISA (Somalilandsun) – The count to local election has started with 108 days being the magic number.

The National Election Commission-NEC has announced 28th November 2012 as the date it has fixed for Somalilanders to democratically elect local council nationwide.

According to a press statement released by the election body the 108 days countdown is now depended on the acquiescence of the President, H.E Ahmed Mahmoud Mohamed Silanyo.

The full NEC statement Ref:KDQ/XK/267/2012, dated 12th August 2012 and signed by all the seven commissioners read:

Commission Decision

The National Election Commission

After perusal of : Presidential & Local councils election law Article 20/21 sections 8 & 14 which pursuant to the constitution mandates the commission to fix election dates and submit them to the president for his signature and subsequent release of a presidential decree

In Reference: The decision of the Political Parties Registration & Verification Committee through a letter Ref:GDU/AAS/127 of 20th April 2012 which detailed the political parties and political groups approved to contest local council elections.

In Reference: To approval by the two houses of parliament of Amendments to some sections of Article 20/21 of the election laws that we are confident will receive presidential approval thus become legal.

In pursuit: of fulfilling its mandate, decisions of the legislative assembly and wishes of Somalilanders to participate in local council elections either as candidates or voters.

The National Election Commission has official fixed Wednesday 28th November 2012 as the day Local council elections will be held in the Republic of Somaliland.

Signatory Commissioners:

1. Eng. Isse Yusuf Mohamed -Chairman

2. Ali-Khadar Hasan Osman -Deputy Chairman

3. Abdifatah Ibrahim Hasan -Member

4. Abdirahman Mohamed Ismail -Member

5. Mohamed Ahmed Hirsi Gelle -Member

6. Farah Abib Aden Farah -Member

7. Raabi Abdi Mohamed-Member