Somaliland: Hargeisa’s Soltelco to Head ALGASL


Somaliland mayors pose together after their ALGASL meeting in Erigavo town

By: M.A Egge

ERIGAVO (Somalilandsun) The Association of Local Government Authorities of Somaliland-AGASL an association of national municipal mayors has elected the Hargeisa Mayor Cll. Abdirahman Mohamud Aidieed (Soltelco) as the new chairman of the organization for the next five years.

Lasanod Mayor Cllr. Abdiqadir Jama Salal was elected the Secretary whereas his Borama counterpart Cllr. Suleiman Hassan Haddi was made the Vice Chairman.

Eleven mayors from the major towns in the country were at the meeting which was graced by the attendance of Defense Minister Hon. Ahmed Haji Ali Adami and his cabinet colleagues, the Honourables Osman Abdillahi Sahardid and Hon. Ahmed Fahiye Mirre who are the state Ministers for finance and education respectively.

This is the first time for mayors of different municipalities in the country to congregate and meet for discussions concerning development of urban centers in the town of Erigavo in Sanaag region.

The Sanaag regional governor Ahmed Muhummed Geele whose town hosted the large gathering, for the first time outside the city, depicted it as a historic event.