Somaliland: PPR&VC Approves List of Kulmiye Officials Released by Adami Committee


Somaliland Political Parties verification comittee

By: Yusuf M Hasan
HARGEISA (Somalilandsun) – The Somaliland Political Parties Registration and Verification Committee-PPR&VC has approved the Kulmiye party list of Executive and Central Committees.

The intervention by the PPR&VC brings to rest the issue of the two committees whose conflict emanates from the concurrent announcement of the same committees by the party chair Muse Behi and the party’s 3rd Delegates conference steering committee led by Defense minister Ahmed Adami.
The divergent party committees released by the two separate entities have exacerbated the power struggle within the ruling party that ensued after Chairman Muse Behi declared intent to challenge the nomination of sitting president Silanyo as Kulmiye presidential nominee during elections slated for 2015.
The Adami led committee was selected during the Kulmiye national delegate’s conference held in Hargeisa late April.
The decision made public by the PPR&VC and addressed to the Kulmiye party and CCed to the Attorney General and President with the subject of ASCERTAINING read
According to the Kulmiye party Constitution the leaders and members of the Executive and central committees of the Party shall be elected during National Delegates meeting.
Following this exercise names of those ejected shall be submitted to the attorney general, National election commission and PPR&VC within a period of 30 days.
In reference to article 19 of the Kulmiye party which stipulates that the listing of members of the party’s central committee is the sole preserve of the committee selected during Annual Delegates conference (Adami Committee) and
In Further reference to election law #14 which authorizes the PPR&VC the authority and mandate to establish regulations, code of Conduct and directives related to political parties as long as they do not contravene the said law.
The Somaliland Political Parties Registration and Verification Committee-PPR&VC hereby ascertains that the resolutions of the 3rd Kulmiye part national conference of 28th-29th April 2014 were submitted timely.
The Resolutions reached at the conference and signed by Conference committee submitted to the PPR&VC are
1. Decisions of the 3rd Kulmiye party conference
2. list of party leaders
3. list of executive committee members
4. list of the central committee
Therefore the PPR&VC hereby declares that the official and legal list of party officials recognized are those submitted by the Adami Committee.
Signatories of the PPR&VC statement
1. Abdirizaq Jama Omar
2. Adan Geedi Qayaad
3. Hasan Ahmed Duale
4. Omar Hasan Ahmed
5. Abdala Ibrahim Mohamed
6. Mohamed Abdi Malik and
7. Ismail Abdilahi Ali

This decision by the PPR&VC is a complete negation of a similar list prepared by Kulmiye party chairman Muse Bihi