Somaliland: SOLJA to Seek Presidential Abandonment of NIS Law


By: Hasan O Horri

HARGEISA (Somalilandsun) – The Somaliland Journalists Association-SOLJA is concerned about clauses in the national Intelligence Service Act.

SOLJA has established a seven member committee whose sole mandate is to seek presidential support in the abandonment of clauses in the proposed National Intelligence Service-NIS ACT that the organization deems detrimental to freedom of speech in the country.

The NIS establishment ACT that is currently pending presidential approval after approval by the two chambers of parliament (House of representatives and Guurti-Elders House) has clauses that SOLJA claims will infringe on the free conduct of information gathering and disbursement as enshrined in the constitution.

Following a meeting of media proprietors organized by SOLJA at Imperial Hotel in Hargeisa the national media organization released a press statement that read:

“Media house proprietors in the country have agreed to appeal to the president H.E Ahmed Mahmud Silanyo directly as pertains to some clauses dealing with the media in Law # 59/2012 of proposed National Intelligence Agency currently pending presidential signature.

During the SOLJA organized meeting it was unanimously agreed that the clauses need to be removed in order to preserve prevalent freedom of speech in the country.

Considering that the two houses of parliament have already approved the Bill establishing the National Intelligence Service with the attending media negative legal clauses, the following points were agreed upon:

1. Establish a committee with the sole mandate of intercede with the president of Somaliland thus return the Bill to parliament for removal of the media negative clauses.

2. For the committee to inform and educate the public on the clauses in contention through all the country’s media houses both public and private ()

3. To this effect and for the stated purposes the following seven individuals representing both print & Electronic and media houses were selected as committee members

I. Mustafa Saad Dhimbil – Jamhuriya Media Group

II. Mohamed Abdi Urad – Yool Newspaper

III. Yusuf Abdi Gaboobe – Hatuuf Media Group

IV. Mahmud Abdi Jama “Huto” – Waheen Newspaper

V. Ahmed Abdirahman Hirsi “Hello” – HCTV

VI. Mohamed Hussein “Rambo” – Geeska Afrika Media Group

VII. Abdilahi Aden Omar “Wayab” – Hubaal Media


Mohamed-Rashid Muhumed Farah

SOLJA- Secretary General