Somaliland : President Names National Committee on Recognition and SL-Somalia Talks


Somalilandsun – The President H.E. Ahmed Mohammed Mohamud Silanyo has at last

named the national committee that he had pledged to in the beginning of the year

charged with the special task of seeing to it that the aspirations of Somaliland as

concerns recognition is realized. It is made up of high profile personalities.

The Head of State at the same time named in juxtaposition another committee to

oversee the organization of this year’s Independence Day commemoration in a

manner that would make a major international impact.

The former committee is made up of eighteen members while the latter one is

made up of fourteen.

In a press release by the new Presidential spokesperson Mr. Abdirahman

Sh. Elmi Fahiye popularly known as Shamah the Presidential decree prescribed for

them the tasks of the formulation and the preparation of the program on the

lobbying for International recognition and on the advisory, consultancy and

recommendations of the modes of the Somaliland-Somalia talks.

The members of the recognition and talks committee that includes only one

eminent lady personality are:-

1. Hon. Dr. Sa’ad Ali Shire- Foreign Affairs Minister

2. Hon. MohamudHashi Abdi-Presidency Minister

3. Hussein Ali Duale (Awil)- The Presidential Adviser on Recognition lobby and

Somaliland/ Somalia Talks.

4. Presidential Advisor on Foreign Affairs Mr. Abdo Ahmed Ayir

5. Ambassador at large Rabi Ahmed Mohammed

6. Ali Ahmed Osman- Somaliland Representative to Turkey

7. Lady Edna Aden Ismael-Former FM

8. Dr. Mohammed Abdillahi Omar-former FM

9. Prof. Mohammed Said Gees-former FM

10. Abdillahi Jama Osman (Geeljire)-former Information and Fisheries minister

11. Prof. Suleiman Ahmed Guleid- Amoud University Chancellor

12. Prof. Ahmed Ismael Samatar—Mac -Alister college, Minister

13. Mohamud Hussein Farah-Dean of Law faculty-Hargeisa University

14. Ibrahim Hashi Jama- Lawyer (International Relations)

15. Dr. Abdi Noor Kijande- Chairman of Foreign Affairs committee, House of


16. Ahmed Dahir Jirde-chairman-Foreign Affairs Committee, the Guurti

17. Eng. Feisal Ali Waraabe- Chairman UCID political party

18. Abdirahman Yusuf Duale-Press Secretary, WADANI political party

The President reiterated the fact that his administration was not only

steadfast but revitalizing and pepping up its efforts towards the achievement

of recognition.

He said that it was in line with this spirit that he has constituted the national

task force.

The President made the pledge when he addressed the National Assemblies

Parliament in a joint speech to the Nation.

It is to be noted that the names that have been incorporated into the committee

are high profile ones and some quite unprecedented hence are expected to pep

up the virulence with which the committee would operate.

In juxtaposition the President named another committee that is expected to, this

time round, bring to a new height the awareness of Somaliland’s aspirations as far

as international impact is concerned.

The President said that this committee that is charged with the task of organizing

the 25th Somaliland Independence Anniversary on the 18th of May should be made a

big deal in 2016 such that a global impact may be made as concerns the country’s

resolve to its aspirations.

The President called for the committees to be diligent and selfless in their undertakings.

The fourteen member committee led by the Minister of Interior Hon. Waran’adde as its

chairman will consist of the minister of Finance Hon. Zamzam as the deputy.

Other members of are:-

3. Defence Minister Hon. A. Adani

4. Justice Minister-Hon. Ahmed Mohammed Adarre

5. Minister of Information, National Guidance and Culture- Hon. Osman Abdillahi Sahardid.

6. Minister of State for the Presidency-

7. Hargeisa City Mayor

8. Presidential Advisor on Gender Affairs

9. Sharmarke Ahmed Muhummed, Secretary to the Cabinet (the Secretary)

10. Aydarus Mahdi Hashi

11. Mustaffa Sa’adDimbil (SONSAF)

12. Mohammed Ahmed Mohamud (SONSAF)

13. Nafisa Yusuf (NEGAAD)

14. Said Omar Ali (SONYO).

Second Hargeisa water reservoir under construction

Foundation stones laid for perimeter fence, reservoirs

By M.A. Egge

The Minister of the Presidency Hon. Mohammud Hashi Abdi flanked by the state

minister for water resources Hon. Mahdi Osman Buuri, the Hargeisa water agency

manager Eng Ibrahim Siyad Yonis and the city Mayor Cllr. Abdirahman M. Aydeed

graced the function where the minister laid the foundation stone for the new

water reservoir center’s perimeter fence in the north of the city.

The minister noted that the trust of the International Community was harnessed

through the good causes indulged by the government, progress consciousness

and proposals of sincere and just riddance which uplifted and developed the

livelihood of the people.

He noted that it was through such steadfastness that good causes and prosperity

were achieved.

On his part the state minister for water resources Hon. Mahdi Osman Buuri said

that the essence “was not only to get water but clean and safe water”.

It is to such reason that the major perimeter fence was being constructed.

The Mayor echoed similar words and thanked the HWA for their diligence.

On his part the HWA chief underscored the fact that to get the plot that would

have two new reservoir constructed upon the government had to relocate 145 families

to a new area.

He said that the relocation which was finalized last week was able to be achieved through

the funding of the Japanese government and implemented by the UN-HABITAT.

Similar number of houses were constructed for the evacuated family members.

The two new reservoirs will be able to carry 500m2 of water each, several times larger

than the current water reservoirs.

The coordination of the efforts was likewise facilitated with the help of the Municipal

Council and the labour and resettlement departments.

Meanwhile early last week Presidency Minister Hon. MohamudHashi Abdi laid the

foundation stone of the new two water reservoirs being built at Geed-Deeble,

the city’s main water resource, becoming a second center.

The new water reservoirs are part and parcel of the major ongoing efforts the

administration is undertaking to supplement and supply the direly needed

commodity to the city.

The government have for a time new put extra works on the project,

something that the administration has prioritized.

The function which was graced by eminent personalities saw the minister

jointly lay the foundation with the water resource state minister and the

manager of Hargeisa water agency.

Others were the Hargeisa city mayor Cllr. Abdirahman Aideed, the CEO of

Hargeisa municipality and city councilors amongst other personalities.

The structure is being put at on area where from the government had

translocated some 145 families from the area in a funded evacuation move.

In his speech at the function the minister reminded the audience that this

was part and parcel of the President’s pledges in his campaigns that were

being implemented.

He said that the new reservoir center is going to be the second one hence

will help supply water to the now estimated 1.3 million residents of the city.

The initial one was meant to cater for 150,000 people and was put in place

way back in 1972.

“This project is going to cost 54 million USD”, he said, a grant from the IC.

He thanked the international community for the aid. He likewise thanked in

particular the AU and EU who are footing 15 million Euro dollars and 10 million

as part of the bill. He in specifically pointed out the Danish aid through the SDF.

He also thanked UN-Habitat who are in part implementing the project.

The water project is a major one who’s piping are a large scale starting from its

source, its reserve and to its supply.

By M.A. Egge